Education and Careers

Law Society for 2017-18 Inaugurated at AMU Malappuram, Moot Court Competition Held

Malappuram (10 Oct 2017): The Law Society for 2017-18 Session was inaugurated by Prof. Abur Rasheed K.M, the Director, Aligarh Muslim University Malappuram Centre. He also launched the Intra Departmental Moot Court Competition. Appreciating the performance of the students of the department, he promised to provide all support to department.

Mr.Shahnawaz Ahmed Malik, the teacher in charge of Law Society welcomed the guests and the audience. He threw light on the history and establishment of Law Society at AMU Centre Malappuram. Dr. Faisal.K.P, the Co-ordinator, Dept. of Law while delivering presidential address appreciated the efforts of Law Society in improving the overall standard of Law Dept. at AMUMC.

Mr. Mohd. Shadab  (BA.LL.B (Hons (IX sem)  and Miss Mariyam Khan (Hons (VII sem)  were selected as Vice President and Secretary of  Law Society respectively after interviews.  While Syed Nishat Fatima and Shahbaz Ali were selected as Joint secretaries respectively. Ranna KT and Ali Muzaffar were appointed as Media and Publication  secretaries respectively. Devesh Kumar chauvia was selected as Organizing secretary. Various forums for Moot Court, Debate, Quiz, Judgment writing, Paper/ Article writing and for personality development were also formed under Law Society. Qirat was recited by Mohd. Koya Amjad while Miss Mariyam Khan conducted the programme. 

Dr. Raghul Raghwan and Dr.Mohd Azmat Ali (Assistant Professors) Teachers In-charge of Law Society coordinated Inaugural and Moot Court Competition.

Meantime, the Intra Departmental Moot Court featured 22 teams concluded last week. The final rounds of the competition were judged by Adv.T.P Abu, Former Assistant Public Prosecutor at District Court, Manjeri and Adv.Mohd. Hassan, Perinthalmanna Court. The judges appreciated the performance of the students.

The team consisting of Mr. Abu Baker and Aseer Jamal both from third year B.A.LL.B and Swecha Rana of fourth year won the trophy as well as best memorial award. While Ali Muzaffar of fourth year B.A.LL.B, Khalid Faizan and Shah Momin from second year bagged second position.

Ali Muzaffar won the best Student Advocate award while Shah Momin won the Best Researcher Award. Vote of thanks for valedictory programme was given by Sayed Nishat Fatima.  The Programme was cooperated and attended by faculty members of Dept. of Law Mr. Ghalib Nashter, Mr. Abu Shahid, Dr. Abdul Azeez N.P, Dr. Najmudheen, Mr. Mohd Shakeel Ahmad, Miss Neelam Faizan and by  Shahnawaz Ahmad.  (Press release)